Sunday, 26 January 2020

NORTHERN Tablelands MP Adam Marshall has today congratulated Armidale hockey administrator Vernon Turner, agricultural academic Dr Hutton Oddy, well-known Guyra community leader Dorothy (Dot) Vickery and Barraba musician and INXS band member Andrew Farriss who were today named in the Australia Day Honours list as recipients of the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM), Public Service Medal (PSM) and Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM).

Mr Marshall said the awards were official recognition of the outstanding contributions all three recipients have made in their respective communities and fields.

“Either as a player, coach or administrator Vernon Turner OAM has been a tireless advocate for developing the game of hockey for more than 70 years,” Mr Marshall said.

“A life member of both Armidale Ex-Services Checkmates Hockey Club and Glebe District Hockey Club, Vernon has many sporting accolades to his name including six years as captain of the NSW men’s hockey team.

“While an accomplished player in his own right Vernon has also developed the skills of the next generation of hocky stars, acting as a junior coach for 60 years.”

Mr Marshall said NSW Department of Primary Industries researcher Dr Hutton Oddy PSM was an academic whose work in animal nutrition had supported farmers during the drought and thorough deserved being awarded the Public Service Medal.

“Dr Oddy has dedicated his life to advancing primary industries across the nation, in particular investigating ways to reduce greenhouse gasses through animal nutrition,” he said.

“The efforts of pioneers like Dr Oddy have aided farmers in the management of livestock during dry periods, his research coming up with a calculation for drought feeding which is used across the country.

“During his career Dr Oddy has worked for the Department of Primary Industries and in 2015 was promoted to Senior Principal Research Scientist, a high honour among research academics.”

Proud of her small town, former Guyra Shire Councillor Dorothy Vickery OAM is a campaigner for progress in the community.

“There’s hardly an event, organisation or significant occasion in Guyra that Dot isn’t involved with,” Mr Marshall said.

“President of both the Guyra Neighbourhood Centre and Guyra MPS Health Advisory committee and Vice-President of Guyra Historical Museum, Dot is a force who has always fought to ensure rural people have access to the services they need.

“Dorothy can now add OAM to her Guyra Citizen of the Year award which she was bestowed in 2018.”

Andrew Farriss AM is a titan of Australian music and has been recognised for his service to performing arts as a musician, composer and producer.

“As a composer and instrumentalist in INXS, Andrew’s work has been recognised around the world and has seen him inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame and Australian Songwriter’s Hall of Fame.

“In recent times Andrew has taken on an advocacy role in relation to supporting rural and regional communities. He leant his voice to last year’s Hay Mate concert which raised over $4.5 million for charity ‘Buy a Bale’.”

Mr Marshall said to be acknowledged on Australia Day in the Honours List was one of the highest individual acknowledgements of service to the community.

“Vernon, Victor and Dot are such positive influences in our community and I’m delighted they have been honoured in this way,” he said.

“I extend my hearty congratulations all three recipients and on behalf of the community, my most sincere gratitude for their service.”

Recent Articles


22nd October 2021

Northern Tablelands MP Adam Marshall, centre, on a recent visit to Ebor Public School, which will receive a funding... Read More


21st October 2021

Thursday, 21 October 2021   NORTHERN Tablelands MP Adam Marshall has today called on members of the Uralla community to         get... Read More


14th October 2021

Member for Northern Tablelands Adam Marshall, left, pictured with the owners and proud restorers of Inverell’s Egan House –... Read More